Quick Links
Simply Southern Seafood Since 1983
The Original Oyster House restaurant first opened its doors in Gulf Shores in 1983. Our restaurant on the Causeway, overlooking Mobile Bay, opened in 1985. Since then we have proudly served the Gulf Coast the best seafood in a casual atmosphere with genuine southern hospitality.

Awards & Recognitions

The Original Oyster House has been recognized, reviewed and rewarded by local and national journalists, bloggers and tourists. Some awards recognizing the Original Oyster House’s commitment to quality food and service to our customers include:

Southern Living Magazine’s Reader’s Choice Awards: Voted one of three Best Seafood Restaurants in the southeast (Gulf Shores and Mobile)

Mobile Register’s Annual Reader’s Poll

  • Best Overall Seafood Restaurant Best Shrimp
  • Best Oysters
  • Best Gumbo
  • Best Crab Claws

Mobile Bay Monthly
Voted Best Seafood Restaurant

Baldwin County Newspapers Reader’s Poll

  • Voted Best Overall Seafood
  • Voted Best Gumbo
  • Voted Best Sweet Tea

Lagniappe Reader’s Annual Nappie Awards
Voted Best Seafood

Coastal Wine Tour
Best of Brunch Winner 2006

Sunny 105.7 FM People’s Choice Award

  • Best Seafood Overall
  • Best Gumbo

Recommended by The New York Times, Southern Living Magazine, and Coastal Living Magazine

Island Spirit Award Winners for Superior Customer Service

  • Daniella Allen – 2013 Award Winner
  • Karen Trammell – 2009 Award Winner
  • Buster Burns – 2006 Award Winner
  • Pamela Ford – 2005 Award Winner

Chelsea Garvin Spirit Award Scholarship Winners


  • Ford Taylor, Bayside Academy
  • Abi Waller, Fairhope High School


  • Meagan Daves, Bayside Academy
  • Laura Cohen, Fairhope High School


  • Madeline Laurendine, Foley HS
  • Ashlie Cline, Fairhope HS


  • Audrey Mecke, Bayside Academy
  • Mary Emma Rockwell, Fairhope HS


  • Kellie Hastings & Elena McLaughlin, Faihrope HS


  • Bailey Stein, Spanish Fort HS
  • Taylor Lee Skipper, Foley HS


  • Sally Sundbeck, Fairhope HS
  • Sarah Nix, Fairhope HS


  • Kyle Roth, Fairhope HS
  • Denise Jackson, Spanish Fort HS


  • Breana Blount, Fairhope HS Joshua Brown, Daphne HS


  • Michael Scott Jones Jr., South Baldwin
  • Center for Technology
  • Deanna Galanti, Fairhope HS


  • Victoria Spriggs, Spanish Fort HS Kristin M Carnathan, Robertsdale HS


  • Amanda Barnes, Fairhope HS Rebecca Wilber, Foley HS


  • Justin Michal, Fairhope High School
  • Tripadvisor

Anatolie Simion
Ozanam Charitable Pharmacy Board of Directors with Gardberg award recipient Cecilia Mace
Awards 4
AL Retail Association Chairman Ricky Bromberg, Jim Harrison, general manger of Original Oyster House Mobile Causeway; Original Oyster House co-founder David Dekle; Gulf Shores General Manager Bud Morris, and ARA President Rick Brown
Nutall Oak Tree Ceremony planted in honor of The Original Oyster House, 2013 Chamber Environmental Award Winner
Oyster Shell Ribbon Cutting
man and woman holding up island spirit award plaque